The Immediate Future

I know it’s been a long time since we’ve talked; I’ve been spending a lot of time on buses and in buildings with inconsistent internet. At the moment, I am on Day 3 (or 2 and 1/2, depending on how you count) of my stay in Essouaira, a charming little beach town. Our hotel is literally right on the water (if I fell out the window, I’d land in the Atlantic Ocean) and we have a beautiful view. The school we’ve been using is very modest, and I’m grateful to have it, but I miss the school we used as home base in Rabat (don’t worry, I’ve drafted an entire entry about that, too).
We have a few more days of class, a community service project, and a full day of exams left, then back to the States we go. I’m not certain how I feel about that (certainly, I’ll be excited about using a washer and dryer whenever I want), because it means having to sort out the rest of Plan B/the next few years of my life. However, in the spirit of living in the moment, I’m trying to just enjoy the last little bit of intense Arabic and the beauty of this country. For you guys, unfortunately, that means you might not hear from me until I’m back home and able to collect and articulate all of the random thoughts I’ve had on this trip. Until then, I can only leave you with infinite love and gratitude, and I hope you know how glad I am to have shared this experience with you.

4 thoughts on “The Immediate Future

  1. I will definitely miss these posts from afar, but it’s going to be great having you home again! You are very good at living in the moment, and I know you’ll soak up every wonderful morsel in these last days in Morocco. Love beyond.

  2. I can’t believe summer’s ending so quickly. I am so jealous of your fantastic Arabic experience and I enjoyed reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

