Baladee al-Jadeed

Sorry for the break there, I’ve had somewhat inconsistent access to Internet for the last few days (you know how airplanes are…) but I will do my best to catch up. I’m now in Rabat, I’ve met up with my host family (who are brilliant, but more on that later), and today is my first day studying Darija (Moroccan Arabic). A lot of words feel familiar, but at the same time it’s like an entirely different beast than Fusha (MSA). Luckily, our teacher won’t let us use *any* language besides Darija in the classroom: no Fusha, no French, no Spanish, and *definitely* no English. I think that’s one of the best ways of gaining language skills; after all, babies can’t speak anything when they learn English, so they have no helper language and they do just fine.

And onto interesting things! We had an 8 hour flight to Madrid (I didn’t sleep, which was incredibly silly in hindsight), and spent what was supposed to be a 3 hour layover there getting new boarding passes, waiting in line to double check our baggage destination, and rushing on trams to our gate. We caught our flight to Casablanca though, alhamdulillah. It is really upsetting when you haven’t slept in 24 hours and you’re not allowed to for another 9, but we got to try drinkable yogurt (avocado flavor tastes exactly like key lime pie) and the whole experience made me grateful for showers and beds. Hotel light switches in Morocco are confusing.

The beach in Casablanca is pretty nifty, but the city itself is a little too cityish for my tastes. Howerver, it does have gorgeous mosques and crashing waves…I’ll save the poetic stuff for later πŸ˜‰ Rabat is even better: the temperatures are great, and our school is beautiful (they have hibiscus flowers! Sunshine! Awesomeness!). My host sister speaks about 4 languages, and makes me incredibly jealous of the Moroccan school system. I’m so happy to be in the company of such great people, and I’m looking forward to more adventures.

10 thoughts on “Baladee al-Jadeed

  1. I’m glad things are going well for you and hope that you’ve finally gotten a good night’s sleep. Your post is really interesting and enjoyable reading. Keep ’em coming. Tell us about your weather too. Take care.

  2. Wow, that sounds AMAZING!! I am so jealous of you right now! πŸ˜‰ I just got your letter. (actually, my dad just faxed it too me, as I am in DC right now… what a good dad πŸ™‚ ) It is a great idea doing a blog, and I look forward to hearing about your experiences! I miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

